Cookies Are Great!

I have been trying so hard to make the perfect chocolate chip cookies, luckily you have all been saved from previous attempts because I was too embarrassed to share the experiences. I mean how hard is it to make cookies? In reality it isn’t hard at all, but in my world where your stove is old and on its way out it makes for a challenge when making baked goods.

I always thought that since the oven ran not as hot as it should that I should just pump the temperature up a bit, at least that is what my Mum told me to do. That worked fine for muffins, I had figured that out years ago. Sadly, it wasn’t working when it came to making the perfect chocolate chip cookie. [photo credit]

(This comic is from a website called Garfield Minus Garfield, I was laughing so hard last night when I was reading them. If you want to brighten your day go check it out!)

So what did I do to fix this? Simple really, I used my brain (finally!) and put the oven to the temperature that it should be and then put the cookies in for the suggested amount of time and then added 4-8 minutes extra in the end, and I would check on the cookies often.

Finally I have chocolate chip cookies that taste delicious! Now I will share them with you! I found this Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe from blog Two Peas and Their Pod.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup Brown sugar
1/2 cup White sugar
1/2 cup Softened unsalted butter
1 Egg
1 tsp. Vanilla
1/4 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking powder
1/2 tsp. Baking soda
1 1/4 c. Flour (
I used Whole Wheat)
1 1/4 c. Oats (
I used Large Flake Oats)
1 cup Chocolate chips (
Whatever kind you want, Oh the possibilities!)

Directions:

Whisk together the dry ingredients in a bowl (later it says to add oats separately, oops I didn’t do that, I don’t know if made a difference though).

Combine sugars and butter until creamy (I use my little Kitchen Aid hand mixer, because I can). Add the egg and vanilla, mix until combined.

Add flour to wet ingredients. Mix until just combined. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips.

Drop cookies on baking sheet.  Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes (Of course I have to give them about 14-18 minutes, but that is just my stove, please adhere to above instructed baking time)! Don’t let them get too done…they are better when they are soft!

Enjoy!

As my boyfriend says, “If you are going to make cookies, make cookies”. Every baked good I make is healthy in some way (which I love!), my brownies have kidney beans in them, I’ve made chocolate chip cookies with chickpeas before…and the list goes on. This time I wanted to bake cookies, I gave him 4 last night and he ate them all, I guess they are good. I definitely think so!

So there you have it, I finally made chocolate chip cookies with success and they don’t look like little balls that are hard, they aren’t burnt, and they are tasty and delicious!

Other than spending yesterday evening in the kitchen nervous that the cookies wouldn’t work I also have been out running, the weather is just beautiful here and I want to spend as much time outside as I can!

Speaking of running, did you see the Boston Marathon yesterday? I was cheering so loud at the end of the women’s race Tatyana Pushkareva (who came in second) was gaining on the leader Teyba Erkesso so quickly, I was surprised and excited. AND the men’s race with Robert Cheruiyot, who is 21, setting a new Boston record with a wining time of 2:05:52, WOW! What a great event! I have told the boyfriend that one day we are going to Boston for the marathon, whether we are running in it or there to be spectators I will be happy.

Happy Running!

2 responses to “Cookies Are Great!

  1. I think I’ll have to try this recipe although truth be told chocolate chip cookies and I don’t always get along.

    You see, I’ve made a ton of them before. Using totally decadent ingredients and recipes (Barefoot Contessa has an amazing one). And the Fiance didn’t like him. He likes his mom’s. In fact he thinks they’re the best thing he’s ever tasted. Not because the ingredients are great. Or even because they have lots of chocolate chips (believe me they don’t). But rather because they were made by his mom.

    So now I only make reverse chocolate chip cookies. No sense competing with the taste of childhood. :o)

    • My boyfriend is all for his mother’s baking (and I must say it is much better than mine!), so I was nervous about the cookies. BUT then the next day I got an e-mail from her asking for the recipe because she thought that my cookies weren’t as rich and she found them quite yummy. I was surprised and happy!

Leave a Reply

