Flashback Friday: Paris In The Summer

Last week I shared some pictures of my trip with PB (my boyfriend) to London, check them out here. Now I want to share the second leg of our trip. PB said that if we were going to go to Europe we should go for longer than a week and we should go to Paris during that second week, who was I to say no?

Here are some of our pictures! There are a lot, and I must say that it is really hard deciding what pictures to share. I love them all but if I shared them all that would be one insane post.

We stayed no where near to what is considered the must see areas of Paris so we used the Metro to get to where we wanted. I thought it was so easy to navigate and get to where we needed at a reasonable price. On our first day we got off the Metro and got to street level and saw this…

Well hello Opera house! I tried to get pictures from the sidewalk and then decided that I had to get to the little island in the middle of the road to get the good picture.

We did a lot on our second day in Paris. (Our first day was spent figuring out where we were and where to get food and sleeping.) Here are some pictures I took of artwork from the Musee d’Orsay.

This was one of our favourite paintings, we couldn’t stop staring at it. PB is very much in to art and painting so he told me a lot about what we saw. It was great to have my own art history teacher with me to fill me in.

Next we walked over to the Rodin Museum to spend some time walking in the garden and to our delight The Thinker was actually there. We had heard that sometimes The Thinker wasn’t there so we weren’t sure what to expect.

Of course many pictures like this were taken.

We had a nice walk around the garden. Everything was so beautiful! This trip made me fall in love with taking pictures of flowers.

Of course when I saw The Gates of Hell I got so excited, Dante’s Inferno was one of my favourite reads during my time at university and to this day I revisit it about once a year. “Abandon hope all ye who enter here.”

Our travels took to Le Champs Elysees where we walked and walked and walked to get up to the Arc de Triomphe.

Once we got to our destination I am not going to lie and tell you that we found the underground tunnels quickly. They were all blocked by tourists like us and we had a hard time finding them. Our approach to traveling was we read a little but just decided to figure it all out on a whim so we were unaware of certain things.

Next up….The Eiffel Tower, and do I have a story for you.

Of course we waited in a line that was beyond huge and sadly we were not able to get up as high as we wanted because it was full after waiting for about 2 hours. We were more than fine with that because that little snag in our plan did not compare to the fact that I fainted under the Eiffel Tower. Yes you read that right, I fainted. I was not well hydrated and I probably hadn’t eaten enough, and it was SO hot out. Apparently I just went down and smacked into the guy who was in front of us. Here’s the great thing though, everyone in line who was near by was amazing. The guy I fell into helped PB relax and take care of me, and there was also a couple from Turkey who ran over with sweets to help me feel better. Everyone was amazing, and I felt so silly. From that moment on we always had fruit and crazy amounts of water with us (we always had water with us, I had run out and wasn’t about to spend almost $7 Canadian for water, now that I think about it spending that much wouldn’t have been a big deal).

Now the fact that I fainted under the Eiffel Tower is just something we laugh about, in addition to ensuring I have enough water. I might have been dehydrated, but I could still take pictures!

After all that adventure we hopped on the Metro and went out to Versailles to see the Palace.

This was a hot hot hot day and we came prepared with lots of water!

I could have spent all day walking around here, it was so beautiful and there were so many amazing sculptures and flowers. I bet I hardly saw everything, but what I did see was beautiful.

Our next full day adventure was at the Louvre. We spent all day there and I still left feeling like I hadn’t seen everything I really wanted to see. Here are some of the beauties we did see though.

The back of the Venus de Milo turned out to be one of my favourite shots that day. No one was really crowding the back so I got to spend a lot of time there without people trying to get in front of me.

We got into the room with the Mona Lisa but we couldn’t get more than half way into the room so I had to work my zoom and standing on my tip toes to get this shot.

Amor et Psyche by Canova was breathtaking! We kept coming back to get more pictures. I saw this sculpture and fell in love with it.

And so ends our trip back to Paris, I hope you enjoyed our pictures! I must say that this has to be one of my favourite trips ever and I cannot wait until PB and I save some more money and find another place to visit.

********

In other news, PB and I went out for a run yesterday because it was so pretty and warm out. Of course this was his first run outside in quite awhile. I was all ready to run about 3-4 miles when he turns to me and says “I want to run 6 miles, that sound good?” I was ok with it, I was just hoping that any nagging injuries he had wouldn’t stop him from feeling good on the run. Turns out they didn’t really, we ran a lot and walked a little and stretched some. We ran strong and had an amazing time.

I love running by myself, but sometimes I love running with PB because he pushes me just that little bit more than I would if I were running alone. Of course what I love even more is that if I want to run slower than he is he doesn’t make me feel like I need to run at his speed and sometimes he tells me that he was happy I wanted to run slower because that was how he was feeling and he didn’t want to say it. How cute?!

I am currently enjoying my 4 days off before I go back for second semester (well day 1 is over, and we are right in the middle, well closer to the end, of day 2). Tomorrow I am going shopping for some professional clothes for my placement and for something else that might come my way (*knock on wood*). I’ll let you know as soon as I know!

Happy Traveling and Happy Running!

3 responses to “Flashback Friday: Paris In The Summer

  1. This is a strange coincidence- when I was at the Eiffel tower there was a girl on a school trip who fainted under it…
    So maybe there’s just something about the tower that makes people faint.

    • Maybe there is! I will start spinning my story that way and see what people think. Anything is better than “I wasn’t drinking enough water or eating enough food”, haha!

  2. That painting of the carpenters was also one of my favorites at the Musee D’Orsay! It was just so amazing and detailed and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

