Placement Friday: Public Health

I know it is no longer Friday, but I still wanted to report back on my first placement day at the Public Health Unit.

I got up at 5:30am, like I had been doing all wee, and I went for a run! It was a nice, but kind of chilly for this time of year, 3.5 mile run in 30 minutes at 5:45am.

I like to track my workouts on my calender with star stickers because it makes me feel like a star, and I have a lot of stickers left over from when I was a camp counsellor. After that I had a delicious Green Monster and showered, I ran for a shorter period of time today because I knew I wanted more time to get ready. Of course I could have gotten up a half hour earlier, but I really didn’t want to.

Once I was ready I packed my food for the day. I knew that if I didn’t have enough I was only a 5 minute walk from my school and could go get fruit or tea there if I needed, and there was also a healthy cafeteria/store near the Public Health building.

I packed some tea and my travel tea mug from Lululemon which keeps my tea hot for a very long time. I made some shortly after getting there and didn’t get it just sit down and drink it until lunch, about 3.5 hours later and it was still piping hot!

Worked with Corporate in the morning, it isn’t all that busy on a Friday so we walked around with my supervisor and met people, and we talked about our backgrounds, it was great because she actually took the program that I am taking now so it was great to hear everything and see that what I am doing now really does pay off. We took a break around 10:30am and then did some replacing of documents in binders.

I had lunch by myself because my placement supervisor was out running errands. It was nice to have an hour to myself to sit and eat and read blogs and the news. While I didn’t do much in the morning it is still overwhelming to go into a new place and meet a lot of new people and be introduced to how things are done somewhere else.

On to lunch!!

For lunch I had some cottage cheese with strawberries and blueberries. It was very yummy and kept me full all afternoon! I have been playing with what to take for food during the school week, trying to figure out what keeps me full the longest because at school (except for Tuesday) we are 8:30am-12:30pm a half hour break and then 1-4pm and we are in a computer lab and not supposed to eat in there. I also munched on a very juicy orange during my afternoon break.

The afternoon was filled with working with HR and it was great and busy, I love being busy! We talked about HR and what I knew about what they did and then talked about what I was doing for them. Essentially I am helping them continue on their path to make everything electronic rather than having to go to someone’s file to find something. I was interesting and I am looking forward to being part of this project and hopefully being part of completing this step for them!

I got to leave at 4pm which was really nice, since it was Friday no one really stays past 4pm anyway and they said taht 7.5 hours was more than enough for a placement student, and I completely agree!

I ate a Caramel Nut Brownie Luna bar on my way home while listening to some music to close out my first day.

I felt really comfortable at Public Health and really liked the people that I am going to be working with. I am looking forward to the next 9 Fridays that I will be with them. I might be counting down the weeks 😉

I hope that everything had a great Friday and a great weekend! I hope to post more about the cool things I learn during my placement, even if they are really only cool to me.

Question: What do you take for your lunch? I am always looking for ideas because sometimes I find myself staring into my fridge and thinking that I have no clue what to make, even though I have tons in there. I would love suggestions!

Happy Running!

5 responses to “Placement Friday: Public Health

  1. I’ve been eating celery sticks with crunchy peanut butter as a snack this week when there isn’t time to squeeze in dinner before working out. It’s delicious, filling, and I love the crunchiness as I eat. It’d be great for lunch, but peanut butter isn’t allowed in school.

  2. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  3. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

