Wake Up and Say Goodbye

One of my goals for the months of May and June (and a bit of July), while I’m in school, is to get up early and run and do other exercises such as stretching and core work.

So what do I mean by early? With classes starting at 8:30am I get up at 5:30am.

[Source]

When I was working retail I figured out that I could get up 3 hours before I had to be at work and I would have more than enough time for an awesome run, a shower, food, and a little down time before I have to head out the door and walk to my destination.

So when I first started getting up at 5:30am consistently (during first semester I was getting up between 5:30-8am depending on what time class started) I was ok with it. I have always loved getting up early, but the first week of second semester was hard. I had 10 weeks of school and placement ahead of me and for some reason I didn’t want to be in school. During that first week I made a comment on a workout in Daily Mile that went as follows:

“Had no problems getting up this morning! Going to bed at 10pm seems to be working for getting up early. Awesome run! Listened to some music but switched to Run Vegan Run for some company.”

I had a response that made me giggle: “Well done! Lets see how you feel in 2 weeks of these early starts.”

I read that and laughed because it is true, especially for me, you know you feel great when you start getting up early and then down the road you start getting tired and grumble at the need you feel to get up so early, but you won’t stop because you know it’s good for you to do so. You know how good it makes you feel. (Of course there are always exceptions and sometimes taking a day to sleep in makes a world of difference)

So how do I feel in the middle of week 3? AMAZING!!

So how do I do it and keep on smiling? Here is what works for me:

I bought one of those Apps from the iTunes store that has music start playing quietly before you have the alarm set to go off. The quite music aids in waking me up slowly and letting me know that it will soon be time to get up.

When my main alarm goes off (that’s right I use 2 alarms) I have to accept that upon waking up I am going to feel a little sleepy, but that does not mean that I necessarily slept poorly or went to bed late.

I turn on my bed side table light as soon as my alarm goes off, I get out of bed and stretch to get things moving. I grab my water bottle from my bedside table and start hydrating.

Then I make my way to the kitchen to get some food in me before I head out the door. I normally have a bit of a Cliff or Luna bar while I sit on the couch and read some news and drink more water.

I always make sure my running clothes are waiting for me and my shoes are at the front door. I always charge my iPod shuffle the night before (if needed) and load up new songs if I find any.

Then I’m off and running!

Stopping to smell the flowers, and take pictures of them, along the way!

When I get home I make myself a big Green Monster, I have changed the recipe lately so I’ll fill you in on that: 3/4c chocolate or plain soy milk, 2c spinach, banana, Vega Performance Protein vanilla flavour. This is the best way for me to refuel before doing any core work or yoga and before I shower and get ready for the rest of my day!

That’s how I do it, some days are harder than others. This morning my eyes popped open at 5:15am ready for the day and excited to get out and run. Some days I’m dead asleep until 5:30am and groan a little when my alarm goes off. Every day is different and that is just the way life is.

Now I am off to read an relax before bed. One thing I forgot to mention is that I get into bed around 9pm and my light is normally off by 9:30pm and am asleep shortly after that.

Question: What works best for you when you need to get up early?

Happy Running!

*Wake Up and Say Goodbye is the name of one my favourite albums by David Usher

3 responses to “Wake Up and Say Goodbye

  1. Wow, you’re hardcore! I thought *I* was hardcore because I get up at 6:30! I know what you mean though–when I wake up, it’s only the memory of how lovely it feels to be out there that propels me out the door–otherwise, I’d be perfectly content to stay in bed.

    • Good job at getting up at 6:30!! It’s hard some days but then, like you said, I know how it feels once I’m running and that gets me up! Keep up the good work!

  2. Great tips! I get up at 4:30 now to go to work, but would love to run in the morning! Sometimes, in the winter, I get up at 4:00 and run before work (it would be as if I got up at 5:30 for work). Ugh. I need to move closer to the office so I can actually get up and run AT HOME!

Leave a Reply

